Meet the Team

Credits to: Nick Manning, UWaterloo Asset Bank


The advisors of UWNRG assist with many of the projects at UWNRG. The advisors comprise of professors at the University of Waterloo who provide resources for research and experimentation for UWNRG.

Dr. Mustafa Yavuz

Professor Mustafa Yavuz envisions a production tool that can harness new types of magnetic templates and exploit them to make radically new devices and materials. These templates are an enabling tool for self-assembly manufacture/production of magnetic particles into new nano-structured macro-materials, with various applications the field of nanotechnology.
More about him can be found here

Dr. Bo Cui

Cui leads the Waterloo Nanofabrication Group whose research is focused on nano- and microstructure fabrication using Nano-Imprint Lithography (NIL) and electron beam lithography, thin film deposition and etching, with applications in biomedical, nanoelectric and other areas.
More about him can be found here


Managing Director

Waleed Ahmed

Waleed is currently a 2nd year Nanotechnology Engineering student at the University of Waterloo. He has worked with the team since coming to the school, and is passionate about promoting science and engineering through research and development.

Technical Director

Max Hamilton

Max is currently a 3rd year Chemistry student at the University of Waterloo. He joined UW_NRG in fall 2014 as a first year Nanotechnology Engineering student before later changing his major. Despite the program change he remained an active member and team lead of SAW before taking the position of Technical Director. Max has worked on a nanosensor at the National Institute for Materials Science in Japan, polymer chemistry at the University of Waterloo, and air quality analysis at Environment Canada.



Tammy Liu


Sadman Kazi


Jeff Niu

Technical Lead

Beini Fang

Team Lead

William Zou

Brett Selby


Adrian Yabut

Team Lead

Alyssha Schneider

Yousef Ibrahim

Reese Martens

Adam Powell

Annette Lan


Max Hamilton

Team Lead

Peter van Nooten

Jonathan Wu

Derek Zeng

Shivansh Vij

Jeffrey Huang

Shawn Reeves


Derek Zeng

Team Lead

Manasa Kaniselvan

Alex Tummon-Simmons

Abhishek Mukherjee

Zain Denno

Laura Zhukas

Danish Baig

Kash Pirani


Daniel Stranart

Team Lead

Rebecca Mac

Emma Atkinson

Rohan Kumar


Jason Lee

Team Lead

Gabriella Hu

Sama Nanayakkara

Alex Wei

Qianshu Wang